Sunday, December 14, 2008

No. 207: Birkirkara (Malta)

Last year's winners of the Maltese Cup, Birkirkara entered the UEFA Cup at the First Qualification Round. Just like fellow Malta side Marsaxlokk, Birkirkara lost to a Croation side, falling 7-0 in its tie with Hajduk Split. Hajduk Split lost 2-0 aggregate in the next round to Deportivo of Spain, which has a solid chance of advancing to the UEFA Cup knockout stage.

Birkirkara is making another run at the UEFA Cup - or Champions League - this year. The team, which features three players on the Malta national team, is currently second in the league standings and is in the quarterfinals of the Maltese Cup.

207. Birkirkara (Malta)
208. Marsaxlokk (Malta)
209. UE Sant Julia (Andorra)

No comments: